Presented by Jasculca Terman

Rep. Randy Hultgren only shutdown/debt ceiling no vote in Illinois delegation

WASHINGTON--Of the 20 lawmakers Illinois sends to Congress, only Rep. Randy Hultgren (R-Ill.) voted against a measure Wednesday to raise the debt ceiling and end the partial federal government shutdown. Illinois Senators Dick Durbin, a Democrat and Mark Kirk a Republican, were yes votes in the Senate, where the bill passed on a 81-18 roll call. The House voted 285-144 to pass the legislation and send it to President Barack Obama to sign. Of the 18 Illinois House members, five of the six Republicans were a yes vote. There are 12 Illinois Democratic House members and 11 of them voted yes. Rep. Bobby Rush (D-Ill.) did not vote; he is on a leave due to the illness of his wife.